Chris Gilmour and Formula 3 return to Morgan Park

C:\Users\egilmour.CHESAUS\Pictures\Formula 3\Winton1.bmp

It may have been a conservative Formula 3 field at Morgan Park in 2010, but the racing at the front of the field was intense, with an Englishman, a Kiwi and an Australian underdog going at it all weekend. In the end it was Englishman Ben Barker who came out on top for the round, a result which helped him claim the 2010 Gold Star Australian Drivers Championship title.


This year it is again an Englishman on top, in the form of 2008 Australian F3 champion James Winslow, his closest challenger though is a driver who finished on the podium twice last year, Brisbane’s Chris Gilmour. Gilmour has been consistent this year, and is one of few drivers in the field with experience on the demanding Morgan Park layout, so he will be hoping to use that knowledge to reduce the points deficit to Winslow.


Cars will be on track from 9:00am Friday morning (August 12), with qualifying and the weekend’s first races underway on Saturday through to the events conclusion on Sunday afternoon.


Rnd#4 2011 Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils
Morgan Park Raceway - Event schedule


Saturday, August 13, 2011

10:35 Q1/T6 Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship (30 mins)
14:05 R1 Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship (12 laps)

Sunday, August 14, 2011

11:05 R2 Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship (12 laps)
15:35 R2 Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship (14 laps)

Morgan Park winners, 2010 Shannons Nationals..
Formula 3
Qualifying; 1. Evans (1:09.3554), 2. Tweedie (1:09.5510), 3. Barker (1:09.7650)
Race#1 (12 laps); 1. Ben Barker, 2. Tom Tweedie, 3. Chris Gilmour
Race#2 (12 laps); 1. Tom Tweedie, 2. Ben Barker, 3. Mitchell Evans
Race#3 (14 laps); 1. Ben Barker, 2. Mitchell Evans, 3. Chris Gilmour

Gates open 7:00am (Friday) and 6:30am (Saturday/Sunday). 
Tickets; $15 (Saturday), $25 (Sunday), $30 (2-day pass). Kids under-14 FREE.